The Martian Begins

The first book our group chose to read is “The Martian” by Andy Weir. This book is really out of my comfort zone because when I read, i do not gravitate towards science fiction books. Science has never been my forte throughout school. Since I was a young child, I have always had a fear of astronauts and their appearance. I also have a fear of heights which leaves me uneasy. However, I will give this book the benefit of the doubt and a shot.

As i read the first couple of pages, I begin to think that he was stranded on Mars. Did she crew honestly leave him? “I presume they got back to Earth alright. Guys if you’re reading this: It’s not your fault.”(Weir,2) As I read further, my suspicions were confirmed.

Reading deeper into the book, I begin to think that it maybe more then just a science fiction book and maybe a book about a fight for survival. Throughout these couple of chapters, he used very technical words, astronaut and science health terms, which makes me believe that he was trained to survive.

1 thought on “The Martian Begins

  1. Pingback: Annoated Bibliography Robert Finch | fourtheloveofreading

Leave a comment